Joshua Weitzel ist Musiker, Kurator und Musikwissenschaftler, geboren in Kassel, 1989.

Als Improvisationsmusiker, Komponist und Interpret spielt er Gitarre, Shamisen und - seltener - Tenorbanjo. Er arbeitet hauptsächlich im Bereich von experimenteller Musik, Jazz und den Grauzonen dazwischen. Hauptbestandteil der Musik ist das Erforschen von Kontrast, abstrakter Harmonic und Dynamik, wobei eine breite Palette von erweiterten Spieltechniken zur Anwendung kommt.

Er ist Gründer des Contemporary Shamisen Duos mit Shamisen-Meister Ryota Saito und dem Ensemble für Experimentelle Kammermusik Kassel/Interrogation Quartet, mit Chie Nagai, Ulrike Lentz and Massimo Magee.

Er hat mit über 120 Musikern aus der freien Improvisation und experimentellen Musik, aber auch aus anderen Disziplinen wie Performance, Tanz, Malerei, Film und Lyrik.

Neben experimenteller Musik spielt er auch Jazz, vor allem aus der Tradition der 20er und 30er Jahre, sowie in der Tradition von Free- und avantgarde-Jazz.

Seine Konzertserien „Chamäleon Konzerte“ and „Chamäleon Experimente“ sind wichtige hotspots für experimentelle Musik in Kassel.  Chamäleon Experimente wurde 2018 von der Bundesbeauftragten für Kultur und Medien, dem Musikfonds und dem Kulturamt der Stadt Kassel unterstützt.


Joshua Weitzel hat in Göttingen, Kyoto und London studiert.

www.joshuaweitzel.com

Biography

" Somewhere in-between John Cage, Helmut Lachenmann and British guitarist Derek Bailey (Georg Pepl, HNA 2016)"

Joshua Weitzel is a musician, curator and academic, born in 1989.

He is improvising, composing and interpreting on guitar, shamisen and - occasionally - tenor banjo, mostly in the field of experimental music, contemporary jazz and the grey areas in-between. His music is mainly concerned with exploration of contrast, abstract harmony and dynamics and employs a wide array of extended playing techniques.


 

He is founder of Contemporary Shamisen Duo together with shamisen Master Ryota Saito and Ensemble for Experimental Chamber Music Kassel/Interrogation Quartet together with Chie Nagai, Ulrike Lentz and Massimo Magee.
He has worked with more than 120 musicians in free improvisation and experimental music and collaborated with artists from various other disciplines such as performance, dance, poetry, painting and film.



Aside experimental music, he also plays Jazz from the tradition of the 1920s and 1930s and from the tradition of Free and Avantgarde Jazz.

His concert series „Chamäleon Konzerte“ and „Chamäleon Experimente“ have become important hotspots for experimental music in Kassel. Chamäleon Experimente was supported by the federal delegate for culture and media in 2018.

In academia, his research lies on the intersection of musicology, art history, museology and education. He holds a masters degree with distinction from King’s College London and a bachelors Degree from Göttingen University.

 

During his time in London he was a regular attendant at Eddie Prévost’s Improvisation Workshop.